I’m in the process of re-organizing my blogging life.   Here’s what’s going on:

This blog (Notes from Greencastle) is going to be private, for family & personal friends only.  ("Personal friend" includes the requirement that either I or the SuperHusband have met you in person at least once.)  It will be for photos, garden updates, weather report, school updates, mystery ailment, etc.  Things my grandmother & I might talk about.  I will continue to neglect it.  Probably more neglected, even, than usual.

The new blog (title not yet finalized), which I post here as soon as it is all pulled together, will be a once-weekly post covering  a rotating series of topics on economic issues, history, and education (not strictly homeschooling)    The new blog is slated to go live the first Friday of July.  I’ll pre-post some of the relevant background posts from this blog between now and then, so that if you have been "following" ("coaxing" seems more accurate) the living wage series, for example, the whole thing will be on the site FYI.

[For those who are concerned . . . I’m going with a host that allows time-delay on the posts, so that I can do my writing ahead of time.  Better suited to my on-again off-again writing schedule.]

What to do?

A.  If you meet the "friends and family" requirement  AND you are actually interested in seeing the pared-back greencastle content, you need to do  two things:

1) Register with homeschoolblogger.  This will cause you to get a couple announcements from the homeschoolblogger people a week, so if that is a problem for you, plan ahead and use an e-mail address that can cope with that.  I haven’t gotten any  spam, btw.  Just the  "homeschool minute" weekly newsletter.

2) E-mail me, and let me know your homeschoolblogger userID.  I’ll add you to the list of people who have access to the private blog.  Note: Don’t forget to let me know who you are IRL!  Phone & snail mail, telegram, stopping me after church, etc, all work too.

(Note: Tina, you don’t have to do anything, you are already set up.)

B.  If you are one of my regular readers but don’t meet the friends-and-family requirement, come over to my new blog.  I’ll post the location before this one goes private, or leave me a comment here and I will e-mail you the address.  If you are currently linked in my sidebar as a "homeschoolblogger friend" and would like to have your site listed in the links at my new blog, let me know that, too.    I don’t know how much traffic the new blog will generate, but it will be a more public corner of the internet.  (So, you might or might not want your blog listed there.)

That’s the news for now.

 

