Fall break is over, and it’s back to school.  Our song this week is "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot".  It was supposed to be "Whom Shall I Fear?", but I couldn’t find the lyrics I wanted in my hasty last-minute search.  It appears there’s a new song by that title, but I want the old spiritual.   Meanwhile Swing Low was in the back of my head to include sometime, too.  It’s one of my childhood favorites.  The only problem being that it might cause a little confusion with our home-grown "Naked Baby" song*, which has a verse structure eerily similar to Swing Low.  (And a chorus a lot like "Davy Crockett").

Meanwhile, the marigolds are not much longer for this world.  Mr. SuperHusband came home Saturday with a flat of pansies (mums were vetoed by royal decree from her highness).  As I don’t think it’s wise to keep the pansies on our kitchen counter much longer, we’ll move our special projects day from it’s regularly-scheduled Thursday to later this morning.   So today it’s a big clean-up from the weekend (read: not one, but two cups of coffee for Mom), then gardening.  We’ll resume the usual penmanship, reading, math, and so forth tommorrow morning.  And then at the end of the week Mr. Boy heads off on a camping/backpacking trip, so the remaining three weeks of formal lessons for this cycle will pick up again at the end of the month.

*******************************************************

*The Naked Baby Song:

chorus:
Naked, naked baby.  Naked as the day she was born!
Naked, naked baby.  Naked as the day she was born!

verses:
I looked in the kitchen, and what did I see?
(naked as the day she was born!)
A naked little baby wantin’ something to eat.
(naked as the day she was born)

I looked in the living room, and what did I see?
(naked as the day she was born!)
A naked little baby just a watchin’ TV.
(naked as the day she was born)

etc etc.

To be sung during that time when the escaped toddler has not yet been caught and returned to the changing area for diaper and clothes.